S1-16: Lazy Days

Topic of the Week: First Week of Break

The first week of break was crazy, fun, and also quite lazy. Of course, there was Solstice last Sunday, which was awesome. I got a laptop, which is extremely high-tech. It’s touch screen, but not like a touchscreen tablet. It’s an actual laptop, all connected and with all the new technology PCs have (and more), but also touch screen. It definitely is cool when I use my programming apps, as well, as touch screen is a good feature for drawing. I also got some clothes (obviously; whose parents don’t give them clothes?) and food and quite a lot of other things I cannot remember at the moment.

Christmas Eve, I went to my step dad’s parents’ house and opened some more presents. Brad (my stepfather) has a sister who came back from Colorado with her wife, which is always fun. I got Beowulf from them, which is a poem I have been wanting to read for quite a time now.

My dad picked me up on Christmas morning and took me to Iowa City (well, Coralville, but close enough) to go see his mom’s side of the family. I got to see some cousins, grandparents, and aunts/uncles. There was a nice dinner with a new meat we’d never had on holidays before, which is one of our traditions. My dad got me an extremely nice set of headphones, which I thanked him for greatly. While there, I got many Iowa State things as well, which I thought funny considering most of my dad’s family are Hawkeye fans.

Other than that, I have been having a generally boring break, mostly sleeping, eating, and reading. It’s, of course, a nice thing to do, just relaxing. My cousin Felicia ordered me to start watching Doctor Who, which I became easily obsessed with and am already halfway through the second season. All in all, it has been a wonderful break and I’m glad I got to witness it in such a great way.

Leave a Reply

